An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

AFA selects McConnell member for Team of Year

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Amanda Currier
  • 22nd ARW Public Affairs
Each year, the Air Force Association selects an enlisted career field for special recognition. The AFA chooses a career field filled with members who display superior technical expertise and who provide leadership and inspiration to others. Then, the AFA selects a handful of exceptionally outstanding performers from that career field to form the AFA Team of the Year.

This year's Team of the Year is expeditionary medics, and the AFA hand-picked Master Sgt. Faith Elmore, a medic from the 184th Air Refueling Wing, to be a member and represent the Air National Guard.
Other people selected to be members of the team include: Col. (Dr.) Jay Johannigman, Denver, Colo., representing Air Force Reserve Command; Capt. Shaun Westphal, Lackland AFB, Texas, representing Air Education and Training Command; Master Sgt. Michelle Roots, Minot AFB, N.D., representing Air Combat Command; Master Sgt. Kory Rivera, Elmendorf AFB, Alaska., representing Pacific Air Forces Command; Tech. Sgt. Crystal Gomez, Robins AFB, Ga., representing Air Force Materiel Command Senior Airman Robert Zuniga II, Sheppard AFB, Texas, representing AETC.
Team members are authorized to wear the Air Force Recognition Ribbon and will be recognized April 3 at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

(Information provided by the AFA Web site,