22 ARW announces the best of 2022

  • Published
  • 22 Air Refueling Wing Public Affairs

The 22nd Air Refueling Wing announced its 2022 annual award winners in a ceremony on Feb. 16.

"Congratulations to all the nominees, and our winners,” said Col. Nate Vogel, 22nd Air Refueling Wing commander. “The contributions each of you has made to your units, this wing, our people and our community are immense."

"After reviewing the nominations for these awards, I can tell you that there was nothing but phenomenal individual effort, teamwork, innovations and volunteer efforts, so it was a hard choice each and every time,” Vogel said. “The margin of difference between the nominees and winners was razor-thin.”

The impact of each nominee and winner has been recognized across McConnell and beyond, added Chief Master Sgt. Laura Hoover, 22nd ARW command chief.

“Each of you should take pride in being nominated, and we're proud of you for the impact you are making across our Wing, our base, and our Air Force,” Hoover said. “Your effort has been critical to our success as a Wing. Keep getting after it and build on these successes. I can't wait to see what we're going to accomplish throughout 2023!”

The annual award winners are:

Airman of the Year: SrA Christine Rogers, 22nd Operations Support Squadron

Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: SSgt George Richards, 22nd Security Forces Squadron

Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: MSgt Charles Power, 22nd Maintenance Group

Junior Company Grade Officer of the Year: 1st Lt. Alisson Maraes, 344th Air Refueling Squadron

Senior Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Ashley Gambill, 22nd Force Support Squadron

Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Paul Weskalnies, 22nd Civil Engineer Squadron

Team of the Year: Command Post, 22nd ARW

Volunteer of the Year: A1C Carley Moreno, 22nd Operations Support Squadron

Civilian of the Year, Category I: Mr. Carter Schrage, 22nd ARW Judge Advocate

Civilian of the Year, Category II: Mr. Jay Honey, 22nd Comptroller Squadron

Civilian of the Year, Category III: Mr. Gary Hawley, 22nd Operational Medical Readiness Squadron

Honor Guardsman of the Year: SrA Nicholas Jones, 22nd Maintenance Squadron

Innovator of the Year: Explosives Ordnance Disposal, 22nd Civil Engineering Squadron

First Sergeant of the Year: MSgt DeAnna Carter, 22nd Medical Group

Key Spouse: of the Year: Ms. Laura Mundy, 349th Air Refueling Squadron