News Search

  • 18th Air Force commander, command chief visit McConnell

    Maj. Gen. James A. Hawkins, 18th Air Force commander, Scott Air Force Base, Ill., along with his wife, Linda, and Chief Master Sgt. Brye McMillon, 18th Air Force command chief master sergeant, will visit here April 24 to 26. The 18th Air Force is responsible for tasking and executing all mobility missions. It consists of 12 Air Mobility Command
  • Brig. Gen. Ed "Dusty" McIlhenny Retires

    Brig. Gen. Ed "Dusty" McIlhenny was honored in a farewell ceremony by the 184th Air Refueling Wing, Kansas Air National Guard, on April 15 at McConnell Air Force Base. On May 2003, Gen. McIlhenny left the unit to assume command of the Kansas Air National Guard as the assistant adjutant general for Air, prior to that he had been a "Flying Jayhawk"
  • 384th wins Spaatz Trophy

    Each year, the Air Mobility Command selects and recognizes the most outstanding air refueling squadron within the command and presents that squadron with an AMC Spaatz Trophy. The award is named after Gen. Carl A. Spaatz, who was the first chief of staff of the Air Force. The 384th Air Refueling Squadron was recently named the 2006 Spaatz Trophy
  • Letter to Airmen: Air Force diversity makes force strong

    Last month, President George Bush and Congress honored the Tuskegee Airmen in Washington, D.C., with the Congressional Gold Medal, the highest and most prestigious award Congress can bestow. They were recognized for their magnificent performance in World War II both in the air, with their exemplary flying skill, and on the ground by breaking down
  • McConnell congratulates NCO Academy graduates

    Congratulations to the following Team McConnell noncommissioned officers who graduated April 5 from Class 07-3 of the Forrest L. Vosler NCO Academy, Peterson Air Force Base, Colo. 22nd Aircraft Maintenance Squadron Tech. Sgt. Darryl Dauphin and Tech. Sgt. Christian Paine 22nd Civil Engineer Squadron Tech. Sgt. Justin Strobel 22nd Logistic Readiness