22nd Air Refueling Wing announces annual award winners

  • Published
  • By 22nd Air Refueling Wing Public Affairs
  • 22nd Air Refueling Wing

The 22nd Air Refueling Wing announced its 2021 annual awards winners in a ceremony on Feb. 25.


"The hardest thing with annual awards is deciding who the winners actually are, because the level of competition is phenomenal. When you’re evaluating these packages and looking at the nominees’ impacts, their innovations, their problem-solving, the margins are always razor-thin – including this time,” said Col. Nate Vogel, 22nd Air Refueling Commander.


"The impact each of you has made to your teams, your units and our Wing is phenomenal and part of what makes the 22d ARW special.  That goes for all the nominees, and not just the winners. I'm proud of each and every one of you for what you've accomplished," he added.


The impact and reach is limited to the past, added Chief Master Sgt. Melissa Royster, 22nd ARW Command Chief.


"While we’re announcing the 2021 annual award winners today, this is really just the beginning," said the Chief. "Build on these successes. Continue striving and continue innovating. Going forward, I’m excited to see what you’re going to accomplish for our Wing and our Air Force in 2022, and beyond!”


The annual award winners are:


Airman of the Year: SrA Rhiannon M. Ero, 22nd Operational Medical Readiness Squadron

Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: TSgt Matthew W. Bjurstrom, 22nd Maintenance Squadron

Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: SMSgt Benjamin M. House, 22nd MXS

Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj Jonathan S. Bradley, 22nd Aircraft Maintenance Squadron

Junior Company Grade Officer of the Year: 1st Lt James A. Rolfe, 22nd Communications Squadron

Senior Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt Michelle M. McMillen, 22nd Operations Support Squadron

Team of the Year: Mission Defense Team, 22nd Communications Squadron

Volunteer of the Year: TSgt Alexander J. Kohler, 22nd Maintenance Group

Civilian of the Year, Category I: Carter P. Schrage, 22nd Air Refueling Wing Judge Advocate Office

Civilian of the Year, Category II: Kimberly N. Tanner, 22nd OMRS

Civilian of the Year, Category III: Bart J. Winter, 22nd Healthcare Operations Squadron

Honor Guardsman of the Year: SrA Chase T. Flemming, 22nd AMXS

Innovator of the Year: Accessories Flight, 22nd MXS

First Sergeant of the Year: MSgt Anthony T. Jordan, 22nd Civil Engineering Squadron

Key Spouse: of the Year: Mrs. Hillary Bailey, 344th Air Refueling Squadron